Go, Kristi!!!

My travels through life and the world.

Day of exploration June 11, 2011

Filed under: Daily Life,Food,France — Kristi @ 5:44 pm

Today Eve and I decided to explore the center of Paris instead of Sacre Coeur. It was quite exhilarating! We met on the Pont Neuf (the oldest bridge in Paris) at the statue of Henri III. But just getting to the meeting was an adventure for me. Now, I’ve decided that I want to be able to not worry about my food on this trip so I’m walking everywhere I can. With this in mind, I decided to walk from the apartment to Pont Neuf. What an adventure!!! I hit not one but TWO protests. The first was a march down a major street (don’t remember which one, but I know I had to run in front of them in order to cross it, I almost didn’t make it!) by a Kurdish federation called the Fédération des Associations Kurdes en France. Basically they were protesting their classification as terrorists by the French and the fact that France voted against Turkey joining the EU. The second protest was at the Hôtel de Ville. It was a protest against nuclear energy. This one was stationary so I got some interesting pictures. Unfortunately I couldn’t wait around to see either of them as I was running late meeting Eve. Among all of this, a creepy old guy with a funny shaped head started chatting with me on my walk. He followed me for several blocks chatting me up and generally being weird. Finally, he asked if I had special plans for tomorrow and wanted to know if I wanted to go for a walk with him. I told him, “No thank you,” and went on my merry way. *sigh*

Anyway, back to the Pont Neuf! From there we walked to Notre Dame and had café and sandwiches on the left bank looking at the cathedral. There is something wonderful about drinking a café while listening to the bells of Notre Dame. After lunch we wandered around a bit. I bought a much more detailed map, which I neglected to read, and we got a bit lost. Luckily I turned us around and got us back on track and we ended up at Pont Neuf again. At this point it was getting late so we decided to trek home. We did some window shopping and some trying on of things, like the most AMAZING HAT EVER!!!! I may buy it if it still there during the big sales later this month. I’m also in the market for a jacket, as I left mine at home accidentally, but everything I liked was WAY too expensive. C’est la vie! We got a gelato and came home.

Tomorrow I’ll take it easy and head over to Père Lachaise, it’s close.

I’m going to start keeping track of how many miles I walk each day just so I can remember.
Walked today: 6.5; total: 17.5

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

