Go, Kristi!!!

My travels through life and the world.

Christine’s in town! June 18, 2011

Filed under: Daily Life,France,Research,Travel — Kristi @ 4:56 pm

Well, I’ve been a bit lax in the posting department. On Thursday, nothing happened, and last night Christine (a friend from my MA program who is doing research in London right now) came into town so I didn’t get home until VERY late. I am a tired Kristi.

 

So here’s the scoop. I’ve been very successful with my research, I’m realizing how much more prepared I am this time around than last time. That makes me feel really good. I’m finding things I missed the first time around and it is going much smoother. That’s basically all of my news from Thursday. Here is an image of one of my documents from Oct. 1460 (I don’t know what it says yet, so don’t bother asking HAHA).

 

 

Friday, I had another successful day at the archives and then I met Christine and her fiancé at Notre Dame and we went for a bit of a stroll. We ended up having drinks at my favorite café from earlier in the week and then we wandered around the Jardin du Luxembourg. Finally, we went by St. Severin again and had a lovely dinner. It was delicious! On the way home we decided to walk by Notre Dame again, as it was dark and all lit up. It is such a beautiful building. I wish it were less touristy so that going inside weren’t such a hassle.

 

             

 

    

 

Today, something interesting happened. There was a ton of construction this morning in the apartment above ours. It sounded like they were throwing metal pipes at the floor. VERY loud. But it wasn’t a huge deal and we didn’t think anything of it. Well, an hour or so later, our doorbell rings. It is our upstairs neighbor apologizing for the noise. She bought us flowers as an apology. Aren’t they beautiful? And people say the French are rude!

 

Next, Eve and I met Christine and Shawn at Notre Dame again (it’s central and easy to get to). We decided to walk through the Louvre gardens to the Arc de Triumph and then on to the Eiffel Tower. It is a LONG walk! We got caught in the rain a couple times but it wasn’t bad. We also had the WORST dinner we’ve had in a VERY long time. I don’t think they did anything right. We were basically laughing the entire meal. And I am exhausted. Tomorrow we’re doing all sorts of things, but we’re not sure in what order. I’ll post again tomorrow.

 

           

 

       

 

 

Walking:

Thursday – 4.5 miles

Friday – 6.5 miles

Today – 6 miles

Total: 48.5 miles

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

