Go, Kristi!!!

My travels through life and the world.

From Paris to Venice July 8, 2011

Filed under: France,Italy,Research,Travel — Kristi @ 5:02 pm

First off, the final couple of days in Paris were very productive. I got pictures of all of my new documents and I discovered that I’m getting much better at reading them, like MUCH better, which is fantastic! My final evening was taken up with cleaning and packing so no walk on the Seine or any cheese. I did have a pastry, though, which made me happy. I also had to go to bed early because the next morning (meaning this morning) I had to get up at 5am to finish packing and cleaning in order to catch my 7:42 train to Milan and then on to Venice.

 

Ok, now comes the fun part. So I woke up at 5:10 because my plan was to leave at 6:30 in order to give myself plenty of time to get to the station by metro. Unfortunately (and typically) everything ended up taking longer than I had planned and I ended up being  about 20 minutes late. So, I left my house at 6:50ish, got on the metro around 7 and then had to wait for the train (I was going against rush hour). I then had to connect to a different train in order to end up at Gare de Lyon. Unfortunately, the train I needed to switch to was under construction and they had a bus instead. At this point I had 30 minutes to get to the station. I decided to just take a taxi from that point. I found one after a few minutes and the driver was lovely and made excellent time. I got to the station with about 10 minutes to spare. So I went to print out my ticket and it didn’t recognize my name. I went to information and they sent me to another room with a REALLY long line (by this point I’m almost in tears and I have 5 minutes). Instead of getting in the line, I talk to someone standing by a ticket machine. She helped me get my ticket (I have no idea what I did the first time that it didn’t work) and I was, luckily, in the correct area for my train. I validated my ticket got about half way down the train (I was in the last car) and the whistle blew so I hopped on and eventually got to my seat, after the train started moving. Needless to say I was a bit stressed.

 

Anyway, as I made it on the train I took a TON of pictures of the trip. I went from Paris to Milan and switched trains to Venice. The mountains were beautiful but, unfortunately, we went through the smaller/thinner section and for a while we actually went through them so it was dark. I’ve posted my favorite ones.

 

Once I got to Venice, I made it to my  room (which is a bare bones B&B) and promptly got lost walking through the city. I bought a map so it won’t happen again and I post those pictures tomorrow with my “Day 1 in Venice” post. The final picture in the series is of Venice from the train coming into Santa Lucia station.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

