Go, Kristi!!!

My travels through life and the world.

From Milan to Leicester July 28, 2011

Filed under: Britain,Daily Life,Travel — Kristi @ 7:13 am

My flight from Milan left on Friday at 3:20 but I like being completely sure that I’m not going to miss my flight so I caught the 11:30 bus from the Milano Centrale to Bergamo airport (about an hour drive) and got through security very quickly. I had about 2.5 hours to hang in the airport so I read my Rick Steves Great Britain book. Have I mentioned how much I love Rick Steves? 🙂

 

Flight was uneventful. I sat next to a lovely woman from the Leeds area who currently lived in Italy with her partner and children. And then I went through customs. It has been a while since I’ve been through customs in the UK and I forgot that they require an address where you will be staying. I had forgotten to write down John’s address, as he was going to pick me up at the airport, and I couldn’t remember anything. The guard was not happy with me but he was pleasant and asked me all sorts of questions, just making sure I wasn’t planning on remaining in the country. After about 5 minutes they let me in, but I have to be honest, I was nervous. John picked me up and we went to his little cottage in Groby. John lives in this adorable, and tiny, thatched roof cottage. It has 2 rooms on the first floor (livingroom and kitchen) and two rooms on the second floor (bedroom and kitchen). I tried to take pictures of the inside but, in some cases, it was too small to really get a picture of anything.

 

         

         

 

Cat, John’s girlfriend, met us at the cottage and we went out for fish and chips at the local shop. The chips were great, the fish had no taste other than fat, but John ate the whole thing (which was HUGE) and then complained that he didn’t feel well. Shocking! After we all went out to the pub, which is conveniently located right next to the cottage, met Seb there, and had some pints.

 

         

 

John had a last minute change of plans for Saturday, he is the secretary of the Supporters’ Trust for the Lincoln football club and had an important meet and greet during the day, so we decided that I’d spend Saturday with Seb. So, I packed up my stuff and headed off to Wigston.

 

The next day, Seb and I decided to go for a ride in his boat. Here is a picture of the boat.

 

 

It is very amusing. We popped it onto the canal and headed towards the pub. It turned into a lovely day, although at first we were a bit nervous because it was raining pretty bad. We trundled down the canal and I learned how to work the locks, it was pretty cool, lovely country scenery, and I got my arm workouts in.

 

         

         

         

 

It took us about an hour and a half to get to the pub, which is a mile or two away; clearly not the most efficient mode of transportation. We got some cokes and cheesy chips, and made our way back to the boat.

 

 

I decided to walk back alongside the canal as I hadn’t gotten much walking in the last couple of days. I also got to work all the locks by myself on the way back. It was pretty cool but I didn’t get many pictures, mostly of sheep.

 

         

 

Overall, it was a lovely 3.5 hours. We got back around 7 and had to get ready quickly to go see Seb’s brother’s band play in town. They were actually quite good, unfortunately the mic was terrible and I could hardly hear Ollie’s singing. Way fun, though, and an overall fun day.

 

         

 

The next day, John and Cat picked me up and the plan was old broken things and green things.

 

 

3 Responses to “From Milan to Leicester”

  1. laurahartson Says:

    its always a bit of a shocker when you have to return to real life isnt it?
    http://sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com/

  2. kdicleme Says:

    Leicester isn’t real life for me, I live in the US. I was just exploring the English countryside with friends. I still have pictures and stories from my trip left to post. When I start posting about Iowa, that’s when I’m talking about real life.

  3. what a gorgeous little cottage for your trip 🙂


Leave a Reply

