Go, Kristi!!!

My travels through life and the world.

Bosworth Field and off to Wales April 7, 2012

Filed under: Britain,Travel — Kristi @ 12:19 pm

On Thursday I headed off to Wales to visit Cloe, but before that happened Tim and Becca were nice enough to take me to Bosworth Field, which is where the (conveniently named) Battle of Bosworth Field took place. It was the end to the War of the Roses in 1485, between the Yorkists and the Lancastrians. This was the battle between Richard III and Henry Tudor where the former died and the latter became Henry VII, the father to Henry VIII. There is a rather nice visitors’ center with some really nice information. At one part of the tour there was a “war table” which showed where the armies went and it was really quite good. Here’s a picture of me in a helmet. You can tell it’s me because of the glasses.

 

 

After the visitor center, Tim and I went for a short walk around the area but because it’s just a field the pictures are basically just the countryside, with a boar flag thrown in for good measure.

 

                       

 

After our little hike, they took me to the train station and I was on my way to Swansea.

 

I arrived in Swansea at 8:30 Thursday evening and Cloe picked me up at the station. We didn’t do anything that evening but sit in the kitchen and chat, but it was a really nice chat.

 

Friday, we decided to have an easy day. Tash, Val, Cloe, and I drove to Mumbles and had lunch and ice cream at Verdi’s.

 

Then we walked back to Swansea down the sea path and it was really pretty (and windy).

 

        

 

And then Val, Elle, Shaun, Cloe, and I went to Rhian’s house for some curry and a nice, calm evening. Here is the view from Rhian’s patio. Finally, we went home and went to bed. It was a nice relaxing day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

