Go, Kristi!!!

My travels through life and the world.

Day 1: Iowa to Colorado June 18, 2014

Filed under: Countryside,Tourist attractions,Travel,USA — Kristi @ 8:09 am

I rolled into Colorado around 8:30 last night. It was a gorgeous drive through Nebraska and NE Colorado, and I’m feeling really good about this trip. This is something I’ve wanted to do for a really long time, and I’m just so happy to be on the road. The only problem about my adventure that I foresee is a very VERY tan left arm, and a not-so-tan right arm.

 

I’m also happy about my first roadside attraction!

 

IMG_1664

If you guessed that this is the Great Platte River Road Archway Monument in Kearney, NE, YOU ARE CORRECT!!!!

 

IMG_1646

 

It is an interactive (whitewashed) history of western expansion. It begins with pioneers, the Gold Rush, and the Mormons (Iowa City gets a mention here), continues with the Pony Express, the railroads, and finally Rt. 80.

 

IMG_1656       IMG_1659 IMG_1660

 

I wanted to stop at a Pony Express station a bit further west, but I wanted to get to my destination more. Finally I made it to Colorado!! I love the welcome centers along I80. The one in CO was “manned” by two really sweet old ladies who made me register (they strong armed me ;)), and gave me all sorts of books and brochures about the Denver area. Basically, if I ever come back, I’m set. This was also, apparently, the only stop in CO of the Pony Express, so they had a monument, as you see below.

 

IMG_1668IMG_1666

 

NE Colorado is actually very beautiful. It felt emptier than Western Nebraska, but I had cell service, which was nice (I did NOT have that in WNE). The landscape reminded me of Eastern-central Wales, for some reason. People might disagree, but I kept coming back to that as I drove (the picture doesn’t do it justice but I was driving).

 

IMG_1672

 

 

The moment I realized I could see the Rockies, was a thrilling moment. I have seen them before, but I’ve never driven to them. They just start appearing in the distance and you’re not sure if they are clouds or mountains. Then there is a switch, where you can tell they are pointier than clouds and you know you’re close.

 

IMG_1673

 

It was an excellent drive!

 

Today, I’m going to get some work done in the morning, and then Maneesh (the friend I’m staying with) and I are going to go on a fun hike. Enjoy the day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

