Go, Kristi!!!

My travels through life and the world.

Days 3 & 4 – The Journey from Aurora, CO to Portland, OR June 21, 2014

Filed under: Countryside,Travel,USA — Kristi @ 10:56 am

I left early. REALLY early. You know how when you have to get up early to do something that is semi-stressful (like drive 13 hours to get somewhere you’ve never been at a reasonable time) you tend to wake up regularly throughout the night? Well, I woke up at 1:45am and couldn’t get back to sleep. By 2:30 I had given up and decided to get ready and head out, which I did by 3:45. What this meant is that I crossed the Wyoming border just as the sun was rising.

IMG_1732          IMG_1735

 

Wyoming made me feel very small. I’ve been thinking about the words to describe my feelings, but I just can’t. It was so empty and big.

 

IMG_1731        IMG_1739 IMG_1740        IMG_1750

(P.S. I do recognize that taking pictures while driving is not necessarily safe, but my method is to turn the camera on and take 5 or 6 pictures without looking and pick the best one. I feel ok about it)

 

That was the up-side. On the down-side, it was very difficult to find coffee. I kept stopping at mom-and-pop truck stops and they didn’t have coffee. I just don’t understand how that is possible. I eventually got come caffeine in my system by 9, which was good because by that point my body realized that I’d woken up at 1:45 and protested. Wyoming was beautiful, but very large, and it seemed to go on forever. Western Wyoming looks very different from eastern Wyoming and is much more deserty.

 

IMG_1756         IMG_1767

 

Then I made it (briefly) to Utah. I didn’t take many pictures because I went through Ogden, which is a place I’d spent some time with Maria. But the welcome center was in a pretty spot.

 

IMG_1777         IMG_1780

 

And of course beautiful mountains.

 

IMG_1788

 

Idaho bound, I continued onward. Idaho along rt 80 was interesting because it looked like Iowa with lots of rolling hills and farms, but in the distance mountains. It was really cool.

 

IMG_1805

 

In Boise I stayed with a lovely woman named Hanna, of whom I got NO PICTURES!! What was I thinking. Hannah, if you’re watching, I’m sorry that I’m a terrible blogger. But, either way, I had a lovely and relaxing time in Boise.

 

The next morning I left around 7am Mountain time (I actually got 7 hours of sleep, it was AMAZING!!) and headed west. I decided not to take the interstate and ended up driving HWY 26 toward Bend. It was my favorite drive thus far, and very pretty. And the one gas station within a 70 mile radius where I got gas. The woman running it was lovely.

 

IMG_1815         IMG_1809 IMG_1819         IMG_1820

 

Then it turned conifer and mountainous, like I had pictured in my mind.

 

IMG_1823        IMG_1830 IMG_1835        IMG_1839

 

I got to Redmond, OR around 11:15 and had a fantastic sushi lunch with the lovely Ashley.

 

IMG_1845

(Posted with permission :))

I was able to drive through Mt. Hood National Forest, but Mt. Hood was covered with clouds (the only clouds were around Mt. Hood). But I got some pictures of other mountains.

IMG_1858           IMG_1862

And then I made it to Portland sans incident. No pictures though. Tonight I’ll post about the wedding pig roast, (I may steal some pictures from other people). a coffee date with Dawn, and a possible hike to some waterfalls.

 

2 Responses to “Days 3 & 4 – The Journey from Aurora, CO to Portland, OR”

  1. Tracie (Trucelbee from WW.com) Says:

    Beautiful pics, looks like you are having a great time!

  2. Dawn Says:

    the clouds over mt hood are the hood.


Leave a Reply

