Go, Kristi!!!

My travels through life and the world.

Day 24-25: Albuquerque – I made it! November 1, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 3:44 pm

I swear, I did escape from the Painted Desert, I’ve just been so busy with dissertation writing, job applications, conference papers, teaching, and creating a new website that I haven’t had time to work on my blog. I think now is the right time.

After leaving the Painted Desert, I finally got to New Mexico.

IMG_2827

Yes, it was raining. It rained almost the whole time I was in the southwest, actually. Ridiculous!

Anywho, I got to Christine’s house and, as we hadn’t seen each other in several years, we hung out and had a good chat. After, we took a drive into the mountain, and I got some nice views of the city.

IMG_2829 IMG_2831

Unfortunately at about this time her car starting draining radiator fluid, which was very unfortunate, so we added water so we could get home and I drove the rest of the time. As an aside: I have an excellent sense of direction, and I almost always know where I am in space and what direction I am facing, and I rarely get lost. There are two exceptions: Pittsburgh, and apparently Albuquerque. For whatever reason my brain was convinced that the mountain was to the north, when in fact it was to the east. This really threw me off!

For my full day in Albuquerque, Christine had to teach, so I found a coffee shop and wrote.

IMG_2833

Here I am being productive at The Flying Star, and in case you’re wondering what the weird, little man is on my computer, that is a Latin dictionary.

That evening we went to the historic part of town, and I really love the adobe architecture, and as a historian I love old places.

20140711_193726 (2)

Unfortunately I forgot my camera, so Christine was kind enough to take some pictures. Here is a picture of San Felipe Church (I’m pretty sure). And there was some great art. On the corner outside of the church walls was this terrifying Madonna carved into a dead tree!

20140711_194115 (2) 20140711_194125 (2)

Then we looked at the art and found some neat stuff, for some reason I was very attracted to the religious art. It was in a style you just don’t get in Iowa, or the northeast, so I got some pictures.

20140711_195933 (2) 20140711_195957 (2)

The next day I headed off to Roswell and Carlsbad!

 

Leave a Reply

